Sign in to follow this  

Oil Migration

Hey Guys

well i have a oil migration problem. All my oil is going from crank side to my clutch side. From what I've been reading this means i have to replace the right side crank seal. I just need some advice on how to get in on the clutch side to this seal and if i need to buy any bearings or seals. (other than the leaky one) Im fairly new to this so please bare with me on this one

Thanks!

Tyson

yes sounds like your right crank seal, or possibly even your counter balancer seal.

To get to the right crank seal, you need to drain your coolant, pull the right side case off, next pull the whole clutch assembly off,  then take off the primary drive gear that bolts into the crank shaft. 

Once you get all that off remove the old crank seal and install the new seal, Pay close attention to which direction the seal goes in, I made the mistake of installing the seal wrong and didn't know, then 4 hours later I had to pull it apart to do the same thing.  

once its installed then starting installing the parts in the reverse order that you took them off.  One tool that will make your life easier when torquing everything down is a Motion pro gear jammer they work awesome.  I have heard of people using pennys to jam the gears also, But I have never tried it. 

• Like 1

yes sounds like your right crank seal, or possibly even your counter balancer seal.

To get to the right crank seal, you need to drain your coolant, pull the right side case off, next pull the whole clutch assembly off, then take off the primary drive gear that bolts into the crank shaft.

Once you get all that off remove the old crank seal and install the new seal, Pay close attention to which direction the seal goes in, I made the mistake of installing the seal wrong and didn't know, then 4 hours later I had to pull it apart to do the same thing.