Sign in to follow this  

Total Noob...back in after 30 years - Tips?

Hello TT....

OK...so I havent ridden an off road bike since I was 14...I'm now (gulp)...45.

I've been riding harleys for 20+ years....on the road...but as we all know...the Dirt is different.

I have picked up a used 2009 honda XR650L that was in great shape. Yeah..it's tall, but so am I...I can stand on both balls of the feet when stopped...so it's pretty comfortable. I roll in at 5'11 at 215 lbs and in pretty decent shape.

I road small club Motorcross for 2 summers when I was young..and frankly..I sucked....and it was a 125 I was running.

Looking for tips and advice on how NOT to kill myself on this thing.

My riding is trail riding with my wife and 2 sons on ATVs (yes...in wisconsin...alot of the trails are dual purpose).

I don't plan to jump or do what you more skilled riders do....I'm just looking to be that old guy on the trails having fun with my boys, but not losing my mind.

Got all the saftey gear, Arms/Chest, knees/Shin protectors, helmet, gloves boots...etc.

I remember to to keep my self WAY forward on turns (hump the tank as I recall), going uphill, or in the mud or sand, and to slide back when going down hill or accelerating.  I remember the Figure 8 drills for turns and for counterbalance turning, so I have that to practice. I remember "Elbows up" and the 2 different standing postions.

Any other drills or tips you can give me would be greatly appreciated.  Keep in mind that my days of Wheelies, Racing, and jumps are in the rear view mirror. Just looking to be safe and have fun. I know that hitting the ground is part of the fun, so I'm good with that...just tryng not to do it too often!!

Thanks guys.

TP

I say sell that pig and get a 2-stroke 250.

You will have much more fun.  Just my opinion.

• Like 3