Sign in to follow this  

Replacing Cam (Timing) Chain

The bike's due for a new cam chain.  I've poked around in the manual and on here and haven't had a clear answer on a couple things.  I've checked valves in the past, so this isn't new territory, I just want to make sure I have all the tools before I start into it.

1) Do I have to pull the flywheel?

2) Will any flywheel puller work?  (I know Honda's require a special one or you will screw up an oil feed orifice)

3) Any other tools required to loosen the flywheel other than the one nut on the crank?

General procedure:

1) Remove cam chain tensioner

2) Remove intake/exhaust cams

3) Remove flywheel

4) Remove anything else????

5) Replace chain and reassemble at TDC

Is there anything I'm missing/over-doing in the disassembly?

Thanks!

Replace the cam chain tensioner as well. I picked up a flywheel puller off eBay for something like $20 I think. Yes you will need to pull flywheel off. I am by no means an expert on this, but I did just do a complete top end and in the process, replaced the timing chain. Members on here helped out a lot in my whole learning curve. (Ronbuell, SUnruh)

SPUD,

I think you have experience enough to get the job done.

>>Get the manual out and read that section and refer to the exploded views of top end and bottom end.

1) Do I have to pull the flywheel?     YES

>>2) Will any flywheel puller work?  NO, has to be for the YZ250F

(I know Honda's require a specialicon1.png one or you will screw up an oil feed orifice)

Anything that goes thru the vent holes in the flywheel with chew up the coils.

3) Any other tools required to loosen the flywheel other than the one nut on the crank?

>>NO

procedure:

remove the seat and tank and pressure wash to get rid of dirt and use the leaf blower to blow it all dry.

then remove the valve cover

1) Remove cam chain tensioner

2) Remove intake/exhaust cams

remove the left side cover

3) Remove flywheel

remove the rear cam chain slider