Sign in to follow this  

New rider 43 looking jumping help

I am new to riding. I'm 43 and decided to buy a new yz250. I road bikes years ago but never had any skills. I hoping to find some advise to get comfortable on bike. I'm 6'1" and everything seem awkward. Any advise is welcome.

I am new to riding. I'm 43 and decided to buy a new yz250. I road bikes years ago but never had any skills. I hoping to find some advise to get comfortable on bike. I'm 6'1" and everything seem awkward. Any advise is welcome.

I'm 6'1", 41 years old and my first bike ever I bought last year and it was a YZ250F, for whatever reason the Yamahas just don't fit me, I tried handle bar risers, playing with suspension settings jsut never felt comfortable on my yamaha. They just don''t seem to be made for guys our size.

I know there other guys our size riding yamahas just fine so spend some time playing around with handle bar position, they even sell foot peg lowering/raising kits. Once you feel comfortable on the bike then riding the track, doing jumps will be the next step.  But don't be afraid to find a bike that fits you perfectly, the more comfortable you are on a bike the better you will ride.