Sign in to follow this  

2000 DRZ400, idle too high?

Hello there everyone!

I bought myself a 2000 DRZ400 about 3 weeks ago, i haven't had much time to ride it though. But something I noticed was that there seems too be an issue with the idle.

When it's cold, it wont idle at all, it simply dies. When it's warm, the idle is too high. However if I gently release the clutch a bit, just to add some drag, I can force it down to what I would call a "proper" idle. However it only stays there for a few seconds and then it's idling too high again.

As I am rather new to this whole fiddleing with well anything that has a motor on it, I really don't know what to do. This is my first bike and I have almost no experice with machines at all. 
I had a friend look it over, who has a lot more experiance and a mechanical education. However he didn't have much time, so what he tried was to fiddle with the screw(s) on the carb to see if it would idle properly with some adjustments. As I was not there when he did it, I don't really know the result. However he told me that no matter how much he fiddled with the screw(s) nothing changed. His recommendation was to open up the carb, clean it out and take a look at the insides of it. 
I think I can manage that at least. I helped a friend clean out the carb on his CRF450, he did most of the work but I watched as he did it. 

However I am unsure of what to exactly look at when I open it up. How do I know if everything is as it should be? What might cause the issue? As I said, im a total noob to this and any help would be great! I figured the best way to learn is to try, but then again even if I open it, i'm not sure how it should look too start with.

Here is a short video of it idleing. 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EU6facoNB1k