Sign in to follow this  

ATF or ATF Type F in the tranny?

I am sure it has been answered, but why not just ATF and not the Type F? in two stroke tranny?

You can get by using Dex III if you absolutely have to. Do not use Dex VI. Type F has more friction modifiers in it and no synthetic compounds.

FYI, the 3.99/qt wally world type F is the same as Motorex Super shift @ $14.99/qt. I have seen it as high as $20 at cycle gear.

I have been using Type F since 1974 and has always done me right.

• Like 2

Thanks. Picked up Lucas ATF ... but not the f type ... will exchange it today. I have some Lucas 10w 40, will that do for now?

If it is Motorcycle specific for wet clutches. Personally I'm not a fan of Lucas. Amsoil yes.

But Type F is the catssass for 2 stroke trannys.

If it is Motorcycle specific for wet clutches. Personally I'm not a fan of Lucas. Amsoil yes.

But Type F is the catssass for 2 stroke trannys.

$25 at advanced auto parts got me almost a full season of oil changes.

I use fully synthetic ATF+4. because I have access to it.  I have run Type F and cant really feel the difference.  I wouldn't run anything but ATF in motorcycle transmission.  All my 2 strokes get it.  I use it my Honda CRF 4 strokes on the trans side.  I use 10W40 motorcycle oil on my Yamaha 4 stroke because it doesn't have split chamber for trans and engine. 

Because the atf breaks down alot faster and its thinner if that's all u have then that's all u have you would have to use it but 15-40 motor oil is good lube and weight its a good all around oil and you.will find that it works I've been putting that in my bikes for a long time and I have not had no issues with trannys in my two strokes pent four strike

I don't care what some chart says or what some engineer says I know what works I've been a mechanic long enough to know what works and what doesn't if u want to use atf in your tranny go ahead and blow it up

It's not mine

I don't use atf in my toys I love my toys