Sign in to follow this  

Removing Nut from Bike Tire Axial

Hello, 

Newbie here. Maybe I am weak or something, but I can not take off the back nut on my KDX 220. 

I am using a crescent wrench. Should I turn clockwise (towards the front tire) or counterclockwise to remove the nut?

Is there a special wrench I need to un-tighten and tighten the nut?

Thank you

You are talking about the axle nut right? It is a normal thread- righty tighty lefty loosy. Turn it counterclockwise to loosen. I always just use the biggest crescent wrench I can find and you really have to lean on it hard.

Edited by Mike in OK

You are talking about the axle nut right? It is a normal thread- right tightly lefty loosy. Turn it counterclockwise to loosen. I always just use the biggest crescent wrench I can find and you really have to lean on it hard.

Thank you

Yes, the axle nut. Do I turn towards the front tire to loosen? Its tuff to take off. I am going to let some WD 40 sit on it for a while and retry. 

I don't have a torque wrench to use when tightening the nut back on. Do I need one?

Also, should I grease the axle and bearings while I have it off, if so what type of grease.

Thank you

Yes, the axle nut. Do I turn towards the front tire to loosen? Its tuff to take off. I am going to let some WD 40 sit on it for a while and retry.

I don't have a torque wrench to use when tightening the nut back on. Do I need one?

Also, should I grease the axle and bearings while I have it off, if so what type of grease.

Check if something is blocking the threads. Theres holes for a cotter pin on my 98 KX250, I tie a piece of grip wire through there because I lost an axle block and nut one time. Thank god nothing else happened, but to prevent that, I take the extra 30 seconds to tie in the wire.

About grease, just make sure the old crap is cleaned out first. Dont wanna mix grease.