Sign in to follow this  

Valve clearances after rebuild

Hi, I'm new to dirt bikes and this forum.

I recently bought an 05 kxf250 of a guy who buys and fixes bikes.

He said the bike was just after a top end rebuild etc and gave me the old piston which was replaced.

I checked the valve clearances and they are way out, exhaust valves had both 0.09mm clearance and the manual said it should be 0.17-0.22 The intake valves had 0.08mm and should be between 0.10- 0.15mm. I was wondering if the clearances change often after the rebuild and should I buy a shim kit at £60 or just get 4 shims. I don't mind spending the money if yous think that I will need to replace the shims pretty often ?

Sorry if I have posted this in the wrong place, if I have where is the proper place to post this sort if question.

Thanks

Edited by Gracey222

Cheers mike, I've only been one the bike for about 2 hours total and not giving it to much thrashing, is there anything else you would do or check etc so far I have replaced:

Front and rear pads

Oil & filter

Air filter

Upper and lower rear shock bearings

Checked fork seals ( one is a starting to leak slightly)

Everything seems ok but is there anything really important to check when buying a used bike ?

• Like 1

Cheers mike, I've only been one the bike for about 2 hours total and not giving it to much thrashing, is there anything else you would do or check etc so far I have replaced:

Front and rear pads

Oil & filter

Air filter

Upper and lower rear shock bearings

Checked fork seals ( one is a starting to leak slightly)

Everything seems ok but is there anything really important to check when buying a used bike ?

Apologies I meant to say 0.17-0.22 and it measured 0.09 for exhaust and 0.08 for intake

Thanks for the clarification.