Sign in to follow this  

XR650R mod questions?

i've used the search and haven't gotten a good enough answer to feel confident in my mod's i have bought to add to the BRP

i have a 2005 XR650R that i have uncorked.

my mod's that are installed or waiting to install are as follows

barnett clutch kit

11:1 JE high comp piston

Hotcam stage 2 

K&N filter and cut away cover

kibblewhite valve springs

i'm just wondering am i missing anything? can i get the bike running good with the mod's listed? right now its a rocket with just the stage 2 cam with barnett clutch kit and fully uncorked.

people take it easy on me i am fairly new to the XR but would love to be guided in the best possible way

thank you very much in advance for your time and help

Troy

That should make around 60 hp.. Your next mod should be an oversize front brake disk. My 650r is stock, and I put on a 280mm EBC rotor after the first time I rode it.

I guess I was asking more along the lines of will I need to cut bigger reliefs into my piston or mill my head?

Should I put the stock cam back in to be safe with the 11:1 piston or am I ok to add everything I have and ride the hell out of it?

Thanks again people

the high-compression piston is a mod I would think twice about, I have one installed in my bike, and the difference from stock isn't really that big, the XR has so much torque and power down low in stock form anyways.

and with the bumped up compression you are limiting yourself to run high octane gas only, some people say you can still run the low octane stuff, I can't though, I get detonation unless I go premium.

also consider the tighter tolerances you get with both the stage 2 cam and taller piston, you need to be paying more attention to your valve clearances.

Edited by BluePills

Do a dummy assembly and use the clay method to check for valve to piston clearance.

If the valve is too close then just add another base gasket under the cylinder. This will drop compression as well.