Sign in to follow this  

New SM owner question - speedo accuracy

This weekend I was able to snatch me up a sick '09 DRZ400SM with 8k miles. I've been riding MX (CRF450R) for the past ten years with my son, and I'm just tired of getting hurt anymore. 

But I had a quick question..

I took it for a quick spin on Saturday night around the area I live, despite not having a tag yet, and I noticed that the speedo displays what I feel is much faster than I'm really going. I did notice that the new front tire the dealer installed was a 120/60-17 vs I think stock was 120/70-17. Would a tire size from a 60 to a 70 really cause that much of a difference in speed? Or was I just having so much fun I didn't realize how fast I was going? 

What a freak'in blast this thing is! 

http://s17.photobucket.com/user/450xDaD/library/DRZ

Edited by MotoJunkii
  • Like 1

welcome aboard!  Looks like your bike has some nice goodies on it.  MRD exhaust, zeta top clamp, does it have an FCR carb on it?

as far as your question about the speedo.  the stock speedos can be off at 25mph by a few off the showroom.  There is some sort of function(ive heard) in the speedo that allows you to compensate your odometer for tire wear, but not the speedo reading, odd right.  Anyways the difference between a 60 and 70 profile tires equates to about 3" more traveled per rev of the front tire.  So with the 60 profile tire you are going 3" less per rev. Break it down to a mile, your new tire has to go almost 900 revolutions for 1 mile where the 70 profile was about 850.  Now these seems like they are adding up to be big numbers....  In reality i think its just under 10% so at 25 you would be about 2mph off.  at 60 you would be closer to 6mph off.

• Like 1