Sign in to follow this  

4 stroke header

Hi guys I am new to the 4 stroke world and I was wondering if it is normal for the header to get substantially hot even though the bike had only been idling and slightly revving for like 20 seconds

It's a combination of a high idle speed, a slightly retarded ignition timing and a aggressive camshaft. All perfectly normal for a race inspired motor.

It's a combination of a high idle speed, a slightly retarded ignition timing and a aggressive camshaft. All perfectly normal for a race inspired motor.

It's primarily due to a very thin exhaust head pipe. The head pipes on your car would glow too if they were that thin. The exhaust gasses exiting an engine with a correct air/fuel ratio will be in the 1200F range. Guaranteed to make a thin stainless or titanium head pipe glow.

Nice video!!! Buts that's a race motor. I don't think I've seen a tamed down motor (enduro or xr50 or ttr dzr) glow the header like a mx bike.

Hi guys I am new to the 4 stroke world and I was wondering if it is normal for the header to get substantially hot even though the bike had only been idling and slightly revving for like 20 seconds

A lot of guys will tell you it's normal to see a cherry red header, and I have seen enough of them to know it happens a lot.  I also know that properly sealing the head pipe to the head with a new crush washer will keep it from glowing red and popping on decel and running less than optimally most of the time.