Sign in to follow this  

Bike was stolen last night...

But they were caught on the way home.

Just got a knock on my front door a couple of hours ago from the local police department. Officer identified me and proceeded to inform me that my 2008 Honda Crf450R had been stolen, but they had it. I have only had the bike here at my apartment in Athens, GA for a couple of weeks, but apparently that's all it takes. We have a porch that is enclosed with a 5 foot high steel gate, which is where I was keeping it, and never thought anybody would be dumb enough or even could steal it without waking me, my roommate, and my german shepherd up. I am not very religious, but I have had times in my life where it is hard to not give credit where credit is due. I am a full time student here at the University of Georgia, and as expected finances are pretty tight. I would have been crushed to wake up this morning and see that my bike had been stolen. The chances of them being caught on the way home are very very slim. The only reason they were pulled over is because they had a headlight out. I almost have to wonder if there was a reason why I went to bed early tonight and did not wake up when they took it. I mean you never know, but what would have happened if I would have woke up and seen these guys stealing my bike? I have a Glock 21 in the closet and I don't know what I would have done. 3 black guys stealing my bike off of my porch and in the heat of the moment I may have have pulled the trigger. There is no way to over power 3 guys and I definitely would not have let them get away with my bike. Or I also could have been injured or worse. Again this is coming from a guy that is not very religious, but I feel like I have to thank God for this one. I very easily could be sitting in a jail cell or a hospital bed right now. Instead I am safely in my bed and I will be able to get my bike back this afternoon. I am quite frankly completely blown away...

Few questions though: