USWE SPORTS ACTION HYDRO PACKS GIVEAWAYS!!! Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

New guy starting to mod my DRZ. Interesting findings so far!

Hello everybody, i've been lurking and learning from all the great posts here and wanted to introduce myself and share some pics and info as i build my new year 2000 DRZ 400s. I'm an o.k. Mechanic and i can wrench my bicycles but i'm new to motorcycle stuff and thought i'd just dive in. My bike is a good looker, 2200 miles and stock except for taller bars and some handguards. First thing i did was get a bunch of stuff from the TT store and send it to the local shop to have the valves checked and the MCCT installed. Next is an IMS 3.2 and Raptor petcock and when i pulled the tank and the stock pc it looked like this, lol:

14vnqj5.jpg

I guess this is why my bike won't run wih "on" on the pc, onlr "reserve" since the tube is totally clogged. People with petcock issues might consider just cleaning it and the tank.

After the tank, i have the 3x3 and jd jet kit to install and i have a freshly rebuilt 2003 shock to install along with a swingarm bearing clean and grease. Already chopped off the mullet with the cool led tail-light too ;).

More pics to follow!

image.jpg

• Like 2

the clogged portion of that is the "reserve" portion -

Looks to me like "On" is clogged at the top

Reserve is basically just a screen, which is still visible

That looks like Stabil gunk to me (by the color of it)

Welcome and happy modding!

It would be a good idea to check the screen on the valve seat in the carb for debris when you have it out for the re-jet. Just incase any of that crud from the tank made it past the petcock screens and into the carb.

It is #18 in this picture

ScreenShot2014-06-11at101608AM.png

Also I would highly recommend doing the loc-tite fixes while as well. They are all linked in this post under the "Preventative Maintenance Fixes" heading.