Sign in to follow this  

RM Years To Stay Away From

I'm new to the RM world.  Just sold my blasters and I'm going to look at a 1998 RM 250 today.  Are there any years to stay away from when it comes to RM's?  Are they good overall bikes?  I'll mostly be using it for hill climbs and intermediate trails.  Any info would be greatly appreciated before I drop $1300 on this thing! LOL  Thanks in advance!

The 1998 are one of the least powerful if all the rm bikes but the front forks are amazing

The guy who owns it says that he got the 97 power valves on it and that apparently makes a difference. Says the 97 valves were the best ones they made. Not sure if that really matters or not. I'm used to blasters so Suzuki dirt bikes aren't my specialty...

It'll be fine.  The only thing you need to keep in mind is that it's 16 years old...  Look for loose or worn parts.  Nothing more than any Honda, Kawasaki or Yamaha, at that age it's more about how well the previous owners took care of it.  However, if it runs good and has no issues then you should be able to keep up with any bike on a medium to fast paced ride.

• Like 1

Yeah,  I'm checking everything tomorrow.  Gonna leak test and make sure all the bolts are tight.  

Previous owner took good care of it,  but it's always good to check your bases. 

aahh0n.jpg

• Like 1

The 98 had a much smaller exhaust port than the 97. That killed power. The 97 has 4 hp less through the midrange than the 96. The 97 power vale was two stage and has steel subvalves. The 96 and 98 had the exact same valve setup(single staged main valve and aluminum subs). Ive noticed on my 97 that the valve doesnt clear the exhaust port completely. The 98 had about 38 hp I think. The 96 had 43 and the 97 had 41. suzuki motors were all over the map from 96-2000 lol.heres my old scoot. Those body styles look nice.

2014-06-03 19.36.48.jpg

Edited by Rancher420
  • Like 1