Sign in to follow this  

Xr400 too big?

Would an xr400 be to big for me? I'm 15, 5'7 140 pounds and Ive been riding bikes for a few years now so I have pretty good experience. I ride mostly trails, woods and the occasional track day. I'm just coming off an rm100 but Ive ridden 250fs and 650s. Is this bike too big? Thanks

I'm roughly your same size and have ridden an xr 400 quite a bit, if I were u I would get a 125 or 200 2 stroke because they are SO much lighter and more fun. Don't get me wrong the xr's are great machines but they are heavy and there is nothing worse than falling over on a steep rocky hill and not being able pick it up or start it up. I ride a cr 125 ad it is perfectly capable on all kinds of trails.

I agree with Soulges....get a 125 or 200 2t. I ride an XR400 but mostly trails and no track riding at all. You'll want something lighter for that kinda work.

Well I don't really want a 2t because of all of the maintenance and stuff. Plus I don't want to rebuild it after 50 or whatever hours. Don't get me wrong I love the 2 strokes but I also need something to street legalize next year as a dual purpose when I get my motorcycle license. I don't do hardcore enduro, but I go to pits often and go through some wet a swampy places and the occasional hill climb. And I only ride maybe 10% track. What would be your opinions on the klx300 or xr250? Do they atleast have decent power and suspension?

^^ what he said. The WR's are great bikes and have the luxury of e-start.