Sign in to follow this  

07 KXF 250 starting Issues after rebuild, Backfiring

Hi - first time posting here, my name is Matt.  I have built and raced 2 stroke karts and bikes for many, many years, this is my first time with a "modern" 4 stroke. I'm getting back into this after 10 years away from it as my son wants to try racing.  I searched the forum for similar problems and have followed all the advice I found, but I hope I don't have a CDI box issue, so I thought I would run my scenario by the collective before I go that route.

I have a 2007 KXF 250 that i just put a crank into, it started up 3rd kick after the rebuild, but wouldn't idle on its own - seemed Ok when I held it open. I adjusted the idle and it fired first kick, but still wouldn't idle - throttle response seemed weird - almost delayed a bit if that makes sense, but honestly I wasn't revving a new motor on its first run, thats not correct. I let the throttle go and it shut off, it never fired again, I even push started it up and down the street with not even a hint of ignition.

Right now, when its kick-started, I get backfires.

details:

-Cam timing OK, Intake might be .25 - .5 degree advanced, EX spot on.

- Valve lash .004 - .005 IN .006 - .007 EX

-Fuel, 91 Oct Shell, no Ethanol, tank cleaned

- Plug - New from Kawi

-Oil/FIlter -10w40 SB4 Kawi non-synthetic

today I took carb apart, cleaned it out. I replaced with NEW parts:

- Main jet 

- Pilot jet (it was plugged)

-Pro Circuit air/fuel screw (poor location - sheesh!) factory manual says 2 1/8 turns, it was at 4.25, I set it to 2 1/2 turns

other:

-TPS is in good shape, not moved

-All elec connections are good

-Air filter is good

- Float level good

All I get is the same back firing - but I did get a small 'trailing' ignition - thats where it kinds fires a fades out

Well, sorry for th elong post - i appreciate any insight, thanks!

-MWC