Sign in to follow this  

Restoring an XR200R, Show me your paint jobs and mods

Last year I decided to get a project bike to keep my self busy in the winter as I'm a student and work in summer. I went out and bought a 2001 Honda XR 200. The guy I got it from took the engine out and left it in his shed and the frame outside to work on the blown up motor, he left the bike there for years and years and never got it done. When I got it only ended up paying $250 for it all but needed a lot of love and money. So far I put new leavers, cables, rocker arms, top end kit, cam (one lobe worn down because of not enough care), cam chain, air filter, back brakes (fell apart so rusted), cylinder honed, header pipe, and finally a found a seat in good condition. and ended up paying around another $500 for parts. 

So right now the engine is slowly going back together and the frame is completely striped, sanded and primed along with the exhaust, header pipe and handle bars. But I came to a problem... I'm not sure what color I want. All my friends told me to black out the bike and what they mean is black plastics, frame, wheels and everything but honestly I don't like the sound of that. I did like the black exhaust, handle bars. header and frame then shine the red and white plastics up. I guess what I'm really wondering is would you post some pics of your bikes to see what cool things you did to them and tell me what mods you gave the bikes.

I don't do flickr because they want a sign up and will display my name.

Not a restoration but just a collection of parts starting with an 01 frame that I walnut shell blasted and repainted. The goal was a good trail bike for technical single track.

Paint is silver VHT urethane wheel paint with a Varathane urethane clear coat.

Tank, seat, & fenders are 90.

Side panels and headlite are mid 80s XR250.

Front forks are CRF150R, wheel is CR85 w/ 21" rim

Rear is XR250 swingarm & shock, and a RM wheel w/ a radial ply Trials tire.