Sign in to follow this  

1995 xr650l

Hi, im new to this, I have a xr650 warming up runs fine, after awhile when engine is hot down shifting to stop , once stopped the engine revs, like a bat outta hell, once take off its fine till next stop.. looked a boot between head and carb ,fro leaks thought I found sealed , no luck , on cooler days takes longer to start the engine to rev at stops, on hot days its faster at stops, no smog crap has just under 4000 miles ,I put 300 on myself and is a one owner orig.4000, only 1995. also I found an extra hose going up under seat and tucked up behind number plate. and ideas. THANKS

Have you tried play wit that dem there idle speed adjustment thing?

Welcome to the site.

No really wasnt sure what to try , the guy i got it feom said no problems always ran good

Is hat the adjustment on left side just below carb with a finger thread and a hose going to other side of carb

Idle adjustment is on the left side and you can do it with your fingers.  I kept raising mine until it didn't stall during off road use.

My guess is that all of the smog stuff has been removed and one of the tubes going into the carburetor didn't get blocked off properly.  Find instructions for de-smogging an XR650L, then check that everything is blocked off properly.

they made the idle adjustment easy to get to on these for a reason

I am guessing   LOL

mine needs fine tuning some days specially trail riding  the idle will climb when it gets hot

so ZIMMER , why would it  rev up when hotter, ya think it would stay low rpm to stay cooler, or does it rev higher to get cool, confused ,