Sign in to follow this  

2007 KX 250 2 stroke ,lost spark HELPPPP

alright guys here is the deal,

I have an 2007 kx 250,  the front end(front forks and triple clamps are off a 2010 kxf 250)  when I turn the bike my fork tubes will just about hit the frame witch i"m not overly concerned about(stabilizer coming soon), the tubes come close enough that they slightly pinch the kill switch every time I turn left, so I have been riding the bike for about 2 years now and was totally oblivious that kill switch wires were slowly but surely breaking.  last weekend at the track they finally let go, I cranked the bars to the left hitting a berm and she just died instantly no bogging she just died.  

I am pretty familiar with how a dirtbike runs and works electrically and mechanically , what my question is when the bike died could it have grounded out and sent a flash back to the coil and burn out the CDI(ignition box, black box).  so the first thing I ordered was another OEM kawi kill switch, thinking it would solve my problem.  I had an new universal  kill switch kicking around the garage so I cut the old wires and ran the universal switch to the old wires and this isn't rocket science to do, and STILL no spark, I am not convinced that the new kill switch will be any different.

a new coil for my bike is about 30-60$

a new CDI is 355$ OUCH!! :foul:

anyway I'm open to tips and advice any help would be appreciated guys and girls, im going to start by testing everything to see where the spark is lost or if there is any current to begin with. the way the bike died so instantly im thinking some damage was done !

Cheers ,ben :thumbsup:

here is a little pic of her for you guys! :ride:

1536424_10203321410288649_9204547197192116736_n1.jpg