Sign in to follow this  

Registering A used dirtbike in California

I am thinking about buying a dirtbike for my Girlfriend. it will be her first bike. I found a pretty good deal on a ttr230 for her. the only problem is that its a 2006 and hasnt been registered since 2010. i was wondering if anybody has experience with registering a used dirtbke in california? the guy has the pink slip. What forms do i need? do i have to go to the DMV or can i mail them in? any ideas about the cost? its my first time buying a used bike so i dont know about any of it. this is for california! thanks!

When I lived in CA I bought a used bike in a similar situation. Long story short I wound up having to pay a few years of non op fees on top of the normal registration fees. This was in 2011 so I doubt much has changed.

Just take the pink to the DMV and get the title transferred. AAA might do it too if you have a membership.  You will have to pay a title transfer fee ($19 I think), sales tax based on your purchase price and the back registration.  Registration is good for 2 years and is due in June of every 2nd years since the bike was originally sold and is 52 dollars for 2 years for the OHV sticker.  If the current sticker say 2010 it has missed 2 registrations.  The 52 turns into 75 with late penalties so you would be on the hook for 75 for 10-12 and 75 for 12-14 and 75 for 14-16 to bring it current  So 225 just for the registration.  Should be taken into account when you decided how much to buy it for.

The 7500 mile rule is for bringing cars or bikes in from out of state.  Has nothing to do with buying anything that has been previously registered in California.

If you have the vin you can check the fees on the DMV site. If you have AAA, you can get the stickers and pay fees at any location that does DMV. Do yourself a favor, STAY AWAY FROM CA DMV's.

• Like 1