1997 yamaha wr200 fuel mixture

ive recently gotten a 1997 yamaha wr200. i'm rather new to two stokes so i don't know what a reasonable fuel mixture would be. the people down at yamaha told me to use 400ml of yamalube oil to 20 litres of petrol. to me this doesn't seem like i am using enough oil. when the engine is running it blows some white smoke. it also uses obscene amounts of fuel. any answers or tips will be appreciated. thanks 

ive recently gotten a 1997 yamaha wr200. i'm rather new to two stokes so i don't know what a reasonable fuel mixture would be. the people down at yamaha told me to use 400ml of yamalube oil to 20 litres of petrol. to me this doesn't seem like i am using enough oil. when the engine is running it blows some white smoke. it also uses obscene amounts of fuel. any answers or tips will be appreciated. thanks 

Manual states 30:1

I run 32:1

My 200 barely sips any fuel, so I think something must be wrong with your floats, or jetting. Probably the floats.

I believe that comes out to 20:1 ratio, which seems like a lot, but is good for keeping an engine together.

i was told that this equalled a 50:1 ratio which i thought was too little 

i was told that this equalled a 50:1 ratio which i thought was too little

Yes, its 50:1 which is fine for just lugging trails/putzing around. If you dont like it run 40:1 and you should feel safer.

White smoke could be crank seal. Lots of info how to check that in here. Good luck!

thanks for the answers. keep the replies coming i need all the tips that i can get. 

thanks for the answers. keep the replies coming i need all the tips that i can get. 

Any new questions? I think the answers above are spot on.

My wr200 manual says 24:1 (USA specs). I usually run 40:1 synthetic

I believe that comes out to 20:1 ratio, which seems like a lot, but is good for keeping an engine together.

I never was any good at Math. :facepalm:

Any new questions? I think the answers above are spot on.