Sign in to follow this  

06 Yz250 fork valving.

Im working on valving my 06 yz250 I bought used. I pulled it down and the mid valve is stock but the base valve is 

30x.11 x11

28x.11 x1

26x.11 x1

24x.11 x1

22x.11x1

20x.11x1

19x.11x1

18x.11x1

17x.11x1

16x.11x1

15x.11x1

14x.25x2

......... Where stock is

17-32x.11
1-30x.11
1-28x.11
1-26x.11
1-24x.11
1-22x.11
1-20x.11
1-18x.11
1-15x.11
2-14x.25

What would the 30mm shims in place of the 32mm shims do? Im new to valving and this will be my first attempt, I have read alot on here and have learned alot but Just want to understand effect the smaller shims will have. I plan on going back to stock valving and adjusting from them but just trying to learn what I can.

They are softer , I would try the valving you have now , for a lot if riders they would prefer it

They are softer , I would try the valving you have now , for a lot if riders they would prefer it

Ok thanks. Ive tryed it but the front end has never seemed right compared to my 06 yz125.

It maybe just how the 250 feels , even with the same valving as the 125 and stiffer springs for the 250 weight it will not feel the same

I never have been a fan of 250s and that could be some of the reason, I am also a 220lb A class woods rider and prefer stiffer suspension so Im going to try going to the stock valving for now and see what it feels like. I realy just want to understand how different valving effect different things as it will help me understand how the forks work and what to change.

I am curious how do  the smaller face shims make the fork softer? To me they seem like it should be stiffer since the oil has less leverage on the shims and would have a harder time bending them, Or does more oil bleed around them as they flex?

The 30 might not fully seal on the piston face, like the 32 will, so that's likely a very soft stack...

Edited by Eddie8v