Sign in to follow this  

06 WR250f Top-End Rebuild - Need Help

Hi everyone, time to think about my 06 WR250f top engine rebuild and decided to do it myself.  I am a self taught bike mechanic so most of what I know is either from experiencing it or reading about it.

Been riding the bike for the second year now and I do not know how many hours are on the bike, I put about 60h myself and I have about 17000km on the speedometer.

From what I read so far I think I need:

- piston (plan to use the 08YZ high compression) - 5XC-11631-00-00 is for the 08 YZ (5NL-11631-20-00 for 06WR)

- piston ring set - 5NL-11603-00-00

- piston pin - 5NL-11633-00-00

- the 2 cylinder gaskets - 5NL-11181-00-00 and 5NL-11351-00-00

- camshaft chain? - 94591-53114-00 (just because I have the engine open, I know I need the flywheel puller)

And a few questions please

- do I need anything else? 

- checked/ shimmed the valves, how do I know when they are done? What needs to be done / anything has to be done to valves and cylinder head when replacing the cylinder?

Thanks in advance

The factory service manual goes into detail for checking the cylinder head / valves - Requires precise measuring tools. My buddy opted to send his head out for inspection / repairs.

From everything I've read here, shim the valves once and when they tighten up again, it's replacement time. Stock shims are usually .170 and around there, so if you replaced shims that were significantly smaller that that they may have been replaced before. It's a good idea to check the valve clearance often.

Oh, and get the seats cut by someone that knows what they're doing with a Serdi machine when replacing valves.

And replace the cam chain too.

Edited by not2shabby