Sign in to follow this  

What bike would you suggest for me

So I have been riding street for five years now and have around 30k miles under my belt. I have ridden 600c crotch rockets mainly, but for the last year I have been riding a 98 Sportster 1200c with some power mod s. I have limited dirt experience in tight trails  riding 125ccs in eastern Massachusetts on hard packed viny dirt where the mountain bikers go. 

What I am looking for: Something not exceeding 3500, that would be good for the type of riding we have in eastern MA. There are some sand pits and trails. One that is easily accesible to me is very narrow and riddle with vines, its a popular spot for mountain bikers, there are some big drops and they have built a number of those narrow ramps they hit. I'm looking for a bike that could handle the local terrain, be jumped to some degree (maybe 10 or so feet of air) and wont be unmanageable on the roads. I dont have a truck so I would have to ride to the trails. I'd also like to be able to go to some of the local dirt tracks in NH and Maine, my sister lives up in Maine so I have put some thought into leaving it up there some times so that I can spend my weekends riding up there. I would transport it to Maine rather than ride it. I wouldnt mind a dirt bike registered with a street title, I could always get a pair of road oriented tires for commuting. I would ideally like to sell my harley because I have decided that it doesnt suit my riding style. So I would also use the bike for my 10 minute city commute which includes a mile or two of highway miles. Ideally the bike would be able to handle steady RPMs for occasional 30-40 mile highway rides. I am 5'10, 140 Lbs, and 23 years old, I dont really mind a rough ride, I just want something that will be oriented toward dirt but capable of road riding. It is pretty hard/ expensive to title a DB for street use in MA so I would probably want to buy a used one that was titled in NH to avoid the added cost.