2002 EC200 review

I am new to GasGas my son has a 2003 MC125 and loves it. We recently came across a 2002 EC200 that is in nice shape. Needs wheel bearings probably jet kit because of altitude change. The guy wants $800.00 for the bike is it worth it, how does it compare to the MC125 in handling and power. It also needs a new chain and I don't know what to buy any input or advice would be appreciated.

sounds OK. Budget another $800 to freshen it up everywhere. Pics?

I figured it needs at least $200 right off the bat but it is in really decent shape. I don't have any pics.

A few years back I bought a 2001 xc 200 for about the same amount. I spent a couple hundred to get it rideable because it had been sitting for a couple years. My plan was to ride it until winter and then tear the engine apart and rebuild it. I rode the bike about half a dozen weekend trips and finally the big end bearing on the connecting rod went out. I think buying any used dirtbike you should plan for the worst unless you know the history of the bike. All in all I think the bike is a solid built machine that excels best in the woods.

Well we bought the 200. It has a fresh top end cylinder and all. I know it needs wheel bearings and I will probably have to jet it because it was from out west. The bike runs great really smooth. My son can't believe the difference from the MC125 which he loves. He wants to ride it in the woods then make up his mind which one he wants to sell.

I am new to GasGas and I am not a mechanic. I am learning daily but I always welcome advice from someone with experience. What kind of oil should I use in gas and trans. Also what type of chain should I buy and any is there any reason someone would not want the headlight plugged in on the EC200. What tips and tricks do you guys use that will make my sons bike last and run better and his riding experience more enjoyable.