Sign in to follow this  

Compression chamber oil '06 forks

I have been watching videos on how to rebuild dual chamber forks while waiting for tools, and parts.. I have never worked on yz forks before, but everything looks straight forward.

One part is unclear though, after filling the chamber with oil, pumping that rod slowly till all the air is out. Then, installing the valve, screwing the top back together.... is there a certain amount of oil that is supposed to stay in there? Or does it all have to be pumped out of those two holes?

Edited by Fasz Kalap

You will fill the inner chamber with oil before dropping the compression valve assembly in, and only fill it to an inch or so below the bleed holes or else you'll just waste more than you need to since the level will rise up and the extra will drain out when you drop the valve in and work it down. I fill it with the damper rod completely extended. When you first fill it, tap the sides with a screw driver handle or something while you hold it at an angle and sort of roll it around to get all the bubbles out from every angle. Air bubbles have lots to get trapped in inside there, so be diligent. Then work the damper rod a few times to distribute the oil into the valving, then tap and roll a bit more. You want all bubbles out. If the oil level goes down during this, fill it back up to a little below the bleed holes before the next step. Keep working it until you don't see any bubbles coming up for awhile.