Sign in to follow this  

Top speed

Had my Drz400sm up to 140kmh (87 mph) passing on the highway. Just for a few short durations. I have to admit there was a lot of buzz/vibration. Should I consider this to be too hard on the bike?

Clarify "few short durations" for a better answer. If it was for less than a min to pass a car, its fine, if it was over an hour to pass lots of cars, its probably not a good idea.

• Like 6

ok look: to answer your question because eveyone is going to tell you different, i'm a mechanic, and the simple answer is the more you spin your engine the more wear you are going to get. That bike was technically never meant to go over 55. thats why when you ride right around 55 mph with normal gearing it feels great. feels even better if you have lowered your rear sprocket teeth. 

regardless, its totally fine to pass people or mess around with your buddies and pass them at 80-90 mph for short periods. but i'm telling you from experience that if you ride up here all the time you are going to have issues sooner and more frequent than people that dont.

happy trails

• Like 3

Just a few times to pass. Maybe 30 or 40s each. I will avoid this in the future. Thanks for the input.

Its a Dirt bike. Thrash it as you see fit. .......oh just keep up the maintenance.

5th pinned!

DRZ is Capable of those speeds, but as people stated, avoid long durations of high speed traveling. I' ve pinned my DRZ @ 98mph indicated on my speedo (stock which apparently is crap) with more to go on my throttle about another 1/6th throttle left before capped but wont be doing that ever again since i heard a pop that didn't sound healthy, but still runs perfectly so im just taking it as a "slow down, no more" indication :) But yeh, your DRZ should be fine and the DRZ is a bike that shakes ALLOT and vibrates ALLOT due to its single cylinder.

P.S. i have a 2005 DRZ400E in supermoto Trim, not sure on gearing