Sign in to follow this  

It's that time! 2005 YZ 125 build questions

Bit of backstory-  I just started riding seriously in the past year or so... I have been riding my whole life on a very low level, but just recently I graduated, got a nice career and was able to afford a bike.. I picked up a 2010 CRF450 and started progressing at a pretty decent rate, until I went over the bars and tore my rotator cuff.  

The 450 is awesome and the power is plentiful.. unfortunately the power is plentiful.  The throttle is super sensitive and it takes a smooth (read, experienced) rider to be able to ride it without being over his head 80% of the time.  I don't have as much fun riding since I'm always in the low end of the power (can't feel like I'm letting loose and just ripping) and I'm not a fan of the engine braking as it doesn't exactly build confidence in the air when you momentarily let off the throttle and start to endo.  

I also don't like the weight of the bike.. even though I'm 6'1 185lbs, I sometimes feel like I'm dead sailing in the air.  Can't really adjust the position mid-air too much, at least at my riding level.

Enter last friday...  I drove 3 hours each way to go pick up a relatively clean 05 YZ 125 and I am absolutely THRILLED to have picked it up.  I will be able to rip into the meat of the power on this bike, and while I may not be going anywhere, I'll surely feel like I am.  

The only downfalls are:

-The suspension (especially the rear shock) is like a couch.. it sinks so much when I just sit down on it.  Is this due to my weight and also being used to a new leftover 2010 CRF450?  Is it due to it being clapped out?  Or a mix of both?  What should I do to the rear shock... service it with oil and adjust the clickers, or do I need a new spring?