Sign in to follow this  

2004 CRF250X jerky snatchy throttle making trail riding difficult for novice rider...advice needed!

2004 CRF250X jerky snatchy throttle making trail riding difficult for novice rider...advice needed!

Hi,

I've been riding road bikes for years but having got fed up with the cost and distance for running a race bike on track decided to move into the dirt and having a hoot so far.

I bought a used 2004 CRF250X. I'm pleased with the bike, especially now that I have fitted new tyres with UHD tubes rather than the very tired tyres and munched-up old mousses that were fitted.

One thing though is making my life very difficult, the bike seems crazy urgent on the throttle particularly for riding in tight, rutted or slippery conditions. I'm using 3rd gear a lot and having to slip the clutch to help the situation - and although I'm an off-road novice I fully understand the concept of throttle control. Even with ALL my attention on it, I'm finding it very jerky. I'm already learning that the smoother the throttle the better the traction - on some climbs on wet chalk I can chug up in 3rd with constant throttle but have started positioning my index finger on the brake lever to help keep the throttle constant!

My chain tension is correct.

A few questions

1) The previous owner told me it had the pink wire mod done. I roughly understand the mod as an ignition map change to the 250R and have seen the post regarding the effect on the torque and power curves - but could this affect low TPS throttle mapping? I.e. throttle reponse at low throttle grip positions? The bike has an FMF Q4 exhaust, but I have no idea whether normal or R cams, and I don't know what (if anything) has been done to the carb tuning. Or am I barking up the wrong tree with this thought?