Sign in to follow this  

DRZ400, CRF250l, WR250r, klx250...dual sports

I'm looking to purchase a dual sport. Primary role of the bike will be back country exploring and local adventure riding/camping. I'd also like to commute year round to work with it. I'm only 12 miles round trip to work so not much commuting. I need the bike to sustain minimum 55mph with some gear strapped on. I'd also like to be able to strip off any adventure riding parts and ride single track.

I'm a 6'2" 205lb(with gear) aggressive rider, I'm 35 and in good shape. I'm a marine engineer and work on and rebuild million dollar propulsion plants so doing my own maintenance, repairs and swap/conversions is not a problem for me.

I've quasi narrowed my search down to the 4 bikes mentioned above...am I missing anything I should consider??..(obviously I've considered orange bikes, but alas the wife has set a $ limit)

I only have ridden 2 strokes(cr250 and kdx220 current bikes) so the 4 stroke world is new to me. I like the power of 2 strokes and I think some of my selections will disappoint me, maybe not the 400 or wr250...I'm not sure????

So given my criteria and stats what do you guys think?? Am I missing anything??

The DRZ would be fine , they are heavy compared to the more performance orientated bikes . But for what use you describe , it would be good .

Setting up the suspension to suit you is Recommended

Yes, suspension, braking, and traction and very important to me coming off MX bikes. I'm also considering the dr650/xr650l but the weight really scares me...but the power and super reliability interests me...I think I really need to rest ride these bikes before laying down any cash...

All the mentioned bikes are street bikes that look like a dirt bike.  In OEM trim each can be set up for mild off road riding but each does best on gravel roads and groomed trails.

The 250’s are woefully underpowered.