Sign in to follow this  

Is this weird?

I started riding about 4 years ago at age 40. Shortly after, a friend who has ridden all of his life bought a dirt bike and we rode just about every weekend for almost 3 years. Toward the end of last year our ride expanded to 4 riders and I started to skip weekend group rides in favor of riding solo. They're all really good guys, we all ride at the same level and we all enjoy the same terrain, so it's not as if the "new guys" have soured me - I just enjoy riding alone. I ride at 90% and all of the same technical trails that I would in a group but I feel more comfortable and my riding seems more fluid without a pack.

Is this weird? Am I turning into a grumpy old antisocial bastard? Has anyone else in their mid-40's experienced this? Ya, ya - midlife crisis. HaHaHa. Seriously though ....

I'm a mid 50's grumpy old man and I like riding alone, except those "oh $hit" moments on new ground.

Mike

• Like 2

I would just say personal preference over weird.

Think I would prefer a friend or two, but more might be a `crowd`, ?

If I were riding solo then would think seriously to keep a cell phone handy somehow.

I'm in my 50's and ride alone a far bit but try to make the right judgement call as to where, when etc.

I enjoy the alone experience but overall most of my best rides have been riding with my crew of 2 other guy's (ones mid 30's other mid 40's).

We've got access to some amazing though VERY remote riding areas so safety in numbers for these trips.

My take is take is as ya get older, you get a better grasp on what you like/don't like and are less likely to compromise on these.

Regardless - I'm riding either solo or with mates until I'm too old to physically get on a bike

We still go on trips as a group - no one wants to be stranded alone whether lost, injured or broken down. Likewise my typical rides are on loops with relatively easy access via 4x4 and my cell phone is always handy.