Sign in to follow this  

A lttle help on Ohlins topping out

I have a KTM 450 sx with Ohlins cartridge. The forks were set up for hare scrambles. I started riding mx again after a few years of hare scrambles. As my confidence began to improve and my speed and jumpability increased the forks seemed to blow thru the stroke but didn't bottom. I believe the clickers were set on 8 comp, and 8 on reb. Oil level at 350cc and springs are 51's. I had the forks revalved for mx. The only change was to the clamping shims. I believe the last three were changed to 1 mm larger diameter. The clickers were changed to 16 comp 8 reb and everything else the same. The forks were much better and didn't blow thru the stroke. That's when I noticed the forks felt funny. It took me a little while to narrow down what I was feeling. I have determined that the forks are topping out on take off and when landing the initial contract with the ground they seem to have little resistance for the first inch or so. I have taken the forks apart and the rods on both cartridges seem to operate smoothly and fully extend when pushed in. I have not taken the cartridges apart. The spring preload is set at zero as per Ohlins manual. My local dealer thinks its a spring rate preload problem. I did try increasing the reb to 5 today but cant really say it improved my problem but it didn't seem to handle as well so I returned to 7 out. I have an oring on lower tube and I am about a inch away from bottoming same as before the revalve. Any help will greatly appreciated. I am getting more and more worried when jumping. Thanks Ron

You have done a good job of looking for the problem , I can't think why it would do that , given zero preload and you have added rebound with no improvement

Do your cartridges have the 2014 style top out springs?? Maybe the addition of these parts could be a fix .. Along with the new mid valve spec while your at it!!

Sent from my iPhone using Thumper Talk