Sign in to follow this  

New XR80 Owner - work in progress

Hey everyone!  I'm back on the site here after years of hiatus, but with a new screen name so I guess I'll say I'm a newbie again.  Anyway, I just picked up a 1985 XR80 for my son for $200.  It has no spark and needs a few other small things.  I'm at a major disadvantage with this bike as I've NEVER worked on a bike with points.  Even my 1980 Suzuk GS850 is pointless ignition.  So that's my first item to attack.

Anyway, I wondered if there were any good articles, particular threads, or anything else I should read to get myself familiar with this bike.  My last rebuild was a 2000 Suzuki DRZ400, so this one's a bit smaller and older :ride:

Also, what's the best way to get a service manual on this bike?  Or am I stuck with simply buying a clymer manual.

Thanks in advance for any help and here's a picture of the bike right after I wheeled it off the trailer.

0jNJMgDl.jpg

Get the manual from the Honda shop.  The ones the technicians use.  EBay maybe $35.  Looks like a great buy at $200.  Points are simple and once set correctly, you will go years without messing with them.  Good luck and keep us posted on the progress. 

ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1407412094.241303.jpg

Hi there I too bought my daughter a xr 80 A few months back and started a full restore I got a genuine honda service manual from eBay with that you can't go wrong I'm still waiting on my crank so I can put the motor back together getting close now

Wow rexv5 yours looks to be in super good shape.  Once I get this one running I'll have my son ride it til winter then it's going in the basement for a tear down.  Not sure how crazy I'll get with it seems I can't paint in the basement anyway.  I found a downloadable version of the Honda Service for $5 so I've got that under control.  My son is anxious to start riding but I need to get a few things for sure before he can ride it, even if I get the ignition sorted out.