New to me 1992 XR600 need general advice

I am picking up a 1992 XR600 tomorrow and was looking on advice on a couple of things. The bike is in fantastic shape and going to be a welcomed change from my CR500. 

First what is the factory spring rated for and will I need to replace it. I am 270 lbs

Next what tires are recommended? riding will be a 50/50 split between asphalt and trail riding in the mountains of PA.

Are there any mods that you XR guys do when you get a new bike that I should consider

Thanks in advance

Nice choice. You will love the much more linear power over that CR. The heavier weight is an advantage for traction too IMO. They are sprung for about 160# from the factory, so it WILL be too soft for you. Look through the FAQ's, but I'd say set that suspension up for your weight,  a decent pipe with jetting mods, make sure the air box is opened up and worry about the rest later. Cant comment on the dual sport tires....

I am also new to the 600 crowd.  Just bought a low hours 2000 600R 2 months ago.  I asked the same questions.  I can't speak from experience but the thing I was told most consistently was replace the choke plate.  So I did.  Seems they come apart sometimes and end up in places they don't belong doing serious engine damage.  Can get them from XR's Only for $25.   I weigh 280 and intend on trail riding and dual sports.  Have a 200 miler 1st week of Sept.  Looking at suspension change also.  If you find the hot set up let me know.  I had a 400 a couple of years ago that was re-valved and resprung by Pro Action.  The suspension was amazing.  Wish I had that one back.

Welcome to the BRP club.