Sign in to follow this  

Oil Change frequency: Trail vs Motocross

Hey TT, I am new to the idea of dirt bikes and I have a question about "motocross" bikes vs trail bikes. I want something simple, easy to maintain and for trail use. I'm hoping to go on long, weekend rides through CA terrain. I guess that puts me as a "trail bike" rider. Most forums say to change your oil every 2-3 rides, 3-6 hours, etc on the bike. Is this true for all dirt bikes or just motocross bikes? What are the proper things to do to keep a "trail bike" maintained?

Also, is there a good guide somewhere to which bikes are trail and which aren't? seems like the Yamaha YZ are competition bikes, WR are the enduro/trail. Honda is a crapshoot of CR, CRF, CRR, etc

Thanks.

Hey TT, I am new to the idea of dirt bikes and I have a question about "motocross" bikes vs trail bikes. I want something simple, easy to maintain and for trail use. I'm hoping to go on long, weekend rides through CA terrain. I guess that puts me as a "trail bike" rider. Most forums say to change your oil every 2-3 rides, 3-6 hours, etc on the bike. Is this true for all dirt bikes or just motocross bikes? What are the proper things to do to keep a "trail bike" maintained?

Also, is there a good guide somewhere to which bikes are trail and which aren't? seems like the Yamaha YZ are competition bikes, WR are the enduro/trail. Honda is a crapshoot of CR, CRF, CRR, etc

Thanks.

for a trail bike I would change the oil every 5 or so hours and clean the filter every ride or 2 depending on how dirty it actually gets as for which Hondas are trail bikes the crf450x and crf250x and all of the xr's are trail bikes.

Fair enough. Thanks Speedy. I was under the impression that trail bikes were much less "maintenance" than motocross bikes. I guess that is more with changing out valves/pistons/etc than it is in regards to changing oil?