Sign in to follow this  

KTM 350exc engine spins backwards

Hi guys,

Last month I fitted a new piston to my mates 13' 350exc and confirmed that the engine spins in the opposite direction to the wheels. I always suspected this due to the position of the cam chain tensioner but with the cam cover off and kicking the engine over it does go backwards!

I find this very interesting and wonder why - anyone have any thoughts on this.

I think the 450 and 500 KTM are conventional, I have no experience on the KTM250 or SX models.

Cheers

Aussie

Think about it. Engine rotation to clutch (trans main shaft) to countershaft. That is three direction changes of rotation. The chain/sprockests do not change the direction of rotation, only gears.

Yes Dirtrider, I thought that also, not sure.

William I realise that the covention is crank spins the same as the wheels, the clutch shaft spins opposite and the sprocket shaft the same as the wheels.

The question is, why would KTM spin the crank opposite to the wheels? There must be a very good reason. I have not seen it before and there does not seem to be alot of discussion.

Thoughts....

Aussie

I don't know what the gearbox looks like on those, but they may have eliminated 1 stage of gearing to improve the packaging (and therefore need to spin the motor the opposite way).

There are no bikes I know of that have an intermediary gear (simply takes up too much space) that will allow a crank rotation direction change. Crank direction of rotation is based on which side of the engine the chain is driven.

All the bikes spin the same direction.

Not true.  The BMW 450 rotates "backwards" due to its use of a chain drive primary.