Sign in to follow this  

Jetting for the CRF230L

Hello everybody! I'm Ben, I'm new here, and I'm new to riding as of a few months ago. I bought a 09 Honda CRF230L and I've been starting to upgrade / mod it. Thus far, I've done the usual maintenance of new chain, sprockets, breaks, spark plug, oil, tires, and air filter. I put a FMF Q4 slip on pipe on, a Moose Racing jet kit, and opened up the air box. I've been told a valve adjustment would be a good idea too since it has a little over 8k miles on it now. 

My question has to do with the jet kit. I installed the Moose kit with the 128 main jet, I think the needle is the 3rd position from the top as per the directions, and the fuel screw is 2 1/2 turns out. 

I feel like it is running lean down low and a bit rich up high as far as the throttle goes. The bike seems to run fine and started on the first try after installing the parts. The top end power is a little better but low end is noticeably weaker. At high speeds it feels like I get a little more speed before WOT and lose some at WOT. It does not pop or sputter when letting off the throttle but it seems to mis-fire once in a while at higher speeds on the road (50-55mph). It does stall once in a while if I'm working it hard at low speeds and I stop and let it idle. I've been told this is something that is not abnormal for air-cooled engines. I turned the idle up a little, which helped. I may have accidentally turned it down while installing the jet kit anyways. I've never opened a carb before this one and I'm still surprised I got it back together on the first try. 

What I'm wondering is, with the air box open and the new pipe installed, should I use a larger pilot jet than 35? I just ordered a 40 and 45 since the jet kit did not come with any pilot jets. Is my main jet a bit too big at 128? I've read that some people have had better luck with 120, and others use 132.