Sign in to follow this  

Female Intermediate Rider

So most of the forums on here seem to cover what bike to start with for a short female ride. I am 5'4 and 140 pounds. I have been riding for 5 years. I started on a lot of different loaner bikes (crf 100, crf 150, and crf 230) and I ended up buying a klx 140L. I loved learning on this bike but honestly now I find it lacking in power and suspension. Surprisingly it's also just a tad short and I have trouble fully standing on it. 

I have ridden a Kawasaki 250 and other then the starting and stopping I didn't find it difficult to ride (though admittedly I didn't go crazy). I have also ridden a ktm 105 sx. I think this bike is a little small and I worry about a 2 stroke since I am a trail rider. I do ride intermediate and difficult trails but the harder they get I need to have a bike that is okay going slower speeds. My cousin rides a Kx 125 and suggests I look into a Ktm 200 exc. It seems like this bike will do better in the lower end than most 2 strokes. Any thoughts? Any bike I move up to will have to be lowered at least enough so I get 1 foot on the ground when stopped. Right now I have to completely slide off of the 250's. I'm not interested in a 230, I think I'll run into the same suspension problems as the 140 and its unnecessarily heavy. 

Yeah the 200 2 strokes have a nice bottom end. See if there's a kdx200 like matty said or a 200xc that you can afford

5' 4" daughter started on CRF100F, moved to KX100 (same size at KTM105 XC - which are rare) and then moved to KDX200.  We cut about 1" out of seat and 1" Kouba lowering link and she is on tiptoes.

KTM 200 is another route to go, but probably need to have suspension professionally lowered ($500-$1000) and they are pricier to begin with.  Finding a smaller, two stroke enduro/offroad bike for women is difficult.  I think it is an unserved part of the market.