Sign in to follow this  

Idaho Riding in Idaho, near Middleton?

My wife wants to go visit some family in Middleton, and I am thinking about dragging my bike along if there is any good riding nearby (I am a slower novice rider). 

I have a couple of questions:

1. Does ID recognize my WA registration, or would I need to buy ID ORV tags?

2. Are there any other passes required (similar to our Discover Pass)?

3. Is it going to be too dusty to ride in mid-August?

Thanks.

1. Does ID recognize my WA registration, or would I need to buy ID ORV tags?

From what I understand, if you are plated in another state, you have 30 days of riding to fit in before you need to register in ID. If you aren't plated, you should stop by a DMV office (or participating MC shop? Not sure if they still do that...) and get an off road sticker for $12. An additional $3 gets you a 5-year plate that allows you to ride on most roads. (Excludes state and federal highways.) Bring your title or current registration to the DMV.

2. Are there any other passes required (similar to our Discover Pass)?

Nope.

3. Is it going to be too dusty to ride in mid-August?

You are riding alone, right? Dust shouldn't be an issue. Or should I say, you shouldn't let dust be an issue. :D

Not sure about the riding in that area; I'm from up north. But I'd definitely bring the bike.

Not sure about the riding in that area; I'm from up north. But I'd definitely bring the bike.

Not plated, so I guess I will have to look into it more.  

ID is good with WA ORV registration. You need a $12 ID park & recreation sticker if you will be riding 7 consecutive days or longer.