Sign in to follow this  

yamaha raptor 350?

I am 13 years old, 6'1, 180lbs and looking to get a good quad. I currently ride dirtbikes and am pretty proficient at riding quads, albeit far from being very good. I am looking to trade a dirtbike and a utility quad to get something that is fast, but easy to handle. I have a friend who has a trx250ex that is a lot of fun, but someone else I know has a trx350 (im not sure if it's a ex or an x but I know it's the one made for trail riding) and both are equally as fun to ride. My question is whether or not I should get a raptor or a trx for just trails. I definitely want a 4 stroke because I most likely wont be racing unless I go to a track just to see what it's like. If you guys have any other suggestions for a good quad for me I would greatly appreciate it, thanks!keep in mind that I am not a mechanic and I want to do minimal maintainance.

If your that tall you'll be cramped on a raptor. My opinion, just go to the 400 class minimum. You can swing a solid 400ex without breaking the bank and that quad didn't change for years and years do parts and aftermarket are easy and plenty to come by for not so much $$. They have the torque and sport feel great in the trails and to be honest is probably the most reliable quad in a long time. If you like to go fast and want some more juice I'd say a Yfz 450. They have a soft spot in my heart forever.

Go for a 400 sport. Z,KFX,TRX, they're all fine machines. Raptors are not that nice of quads, especially the 660/700.