Sign in to follow this  

From street to dirt? What to buy?

My background:  Street bike riding for ~15 years.  R1's, GSX-R 1K, Ducati 1098S, etc.  I've had about 6 bikes and currently I ride a 2007 1098S dedicated track bike.  I try to get out to the track often and I typically am in the fastest groups out there.  My track bike has it all, full Ohlins NIX forks, TTX shock, slipper clutch, race glass, fully race prepped, etc.  I definitely take it serious and hit it hard.

I want to add a dirt bike to my stable.  I have very little experience riding dirt bikes.  I've ridden a couple friends over the years in the past when we're out at the desert, but that's about it.  I've never owned one, never been to a dirt track, etc.

I am 36 years old, 6'3", about 210lbs.  I was thinking right off the bat, maybe a used up to 2008 or so CRF450R.  Then I wonder really how much track time am I going to get, vs tearing it up out in the desert?  There is a track local to me and my friend who I race with has a dirt bike and recommends going there, so I figure a good amount.  He is on a 250 and says he is fine with it, but then he also races an air cooled hyper motard, so I dont think he is concerned with the absolute fastest times and such.

I think I will enlist him when the time comes to actually buy a bike, so he can inspect it over, give his thoughts, etc.  but I am vascilating between CC's, brands and type of dirt bike.  I won't be dual-sporting so thats out, this really for some dirt track here and there as well as taking it with me when I go out to the desert to shoot guns, and just tear it up in the hills.  No sand.

Thanks for any feedback, it helps steer me in the right direction.

Edited by Agr0

You are about my size.  You should be able to handle a 450.  They are a little much on a mx track but you can tame them down.  With your size a 250 would be OK on a MX track but you would hate it in the open desert.