Sign in to follow this  

07 Crf250R Suspension Setup And spring rate

I recently Purchased a 07 Crf250R From the looks work has been done to it before, and the suspension probably has been changed. I am a Beginner/ novice motorcross rider at 125lbs. I can tell setting the clicker to stock position its quite stiff. And it doesnt feel super safe riding fast. I took the rear shock apart, found that the spring has been changed but has no markings to what rate it is , all it has is 03-87 engraved in it? 

I wanna know what spring rate it is but cant figure it out. Is there anybody that can figure that out? 

I set the sag to roughly 100mm of sag. And I took the rear shock completly apart to see if it needs new oil and check if the valve has been changed, it appears to be stock but oil looks new. Is there anybody that can help me revalve the shock to my personal riding ability. Im fimilar with revalving offroad shocks with compression and rebound shocks, I just can not figure out which stack is high speed and low speed. I have pictures if needed. 

Thanks 

The low speed shims are the 44mm ones that lay right on the piston. My stock 07 had 7, 44mm/.2 and 6, 44mm/.15 shims on the piston. Then a 37mm/.15 and a 30mm/.15  cross over shims that seperate that low speed stack from the high speed stack which is,

2, 42/.2

40/.25

38/.25

36/.25

34/.25

32/.25

31/.25

30/.25

29/.3

28/.3

27/.3

26/.3

You said you had 100mm sag, do you know what sag was with out the rider? If it was over 40mm, your spring is probably too stiff.

I don't know those numbers, but the stock rate is 5.3kg. And at your weight and ability the optional 5.1kg would probably be better for you.