Sign in to follow this  

Flywheel Weight?

I have an RM250 that I bought a few months ago.  This is my first bike ever, I've been riding quads for a few years.  Learning the ropes and gradually getting better but I've been reading up on flywheel weights.  I only ride in the woods and will occasionally go to the MX track but I don't do anything crazy there.  Would a flywheel weight help me out at all, what size should I get, and how much will it help?  Most of the trails that I ride are tight, technical trails and I like to hit the hill climbs when we find some.  Let me know what you guys think!  Thanks in advance!

The only thing I can tell you about the FWW is that I decided not to get one for my RM250 after I had ridden it for a while. The weight will help in the low RPM to keep the engine from dying, but it will take some of the hit out too when you get into the engine's sweet spot. I do the same kinds of riding you are talking about. The RM was also my first dirtbike, having ridden quads in the past. Once I got used to the clutch and the 2-stroke hit I ended up really liking the way the RM handles in the woods without the FWW. Again, I don't have one to tell you but from my understanding the engine will lose some of it's 'snappiness', which to me equates to throttle response and faster revs at higher rpm. Maybe I am incorrect, and maybe someone will have other advice for you. This is just my experience on my RM.

• Like 1