Sign in to follow this  

Thoroughly Confused on What to do with Front End

I am new to dirt riding but not at all new to riding in general. I used to do track days on a Honda Hawk GT but got out of street bikes in favor of the trails now that I have a child. I'm not a motocrosser in the making, AT ALL: I like trails.

I purchased a nearly new 2013 CRF230F for a great price and have been having a TON of fun on it. If there's one thing I've learned about riding though, it's that suspension makes the bike. I am not afraid of spending some bucks but don't want to waste money if I can avoid it. I like to shop around for a bargain but don't want to put bargain parts on the bike. I also have a full machine shop and am capable of doing what I need to do for the mods.

I'm planning on a Fox shock for the rear. I've read about re-working the stock shock but that's not worth it to me. I'd rather spend a few hundred more and get something adjustable and designed from the ground up to work well.

For the front end, I'm considering throwing in some emulators for now to get me by. But long term I'm looking into a fork swap. I only weigh 135lbs without gear and I think a CR85 swap may be the best bet. I have the capability of machining parts or re-working things and I'm trying to figure out what I can do on my own for this swap.

For example, the lower triple modification seems simple enough. Reger presses the steering stem out 1/4", that doesn't seem hard? Is there anything special about this or will it be simple enough once the parts are in-hand?

From what I've seen I'll need a CR80/85 big wheel:

Forks, full triple assembly (lower, upper, stem), and axle. 

Is this all? Can the CRF230f axle be modded to fit?

Anyway, just looking to learn more about this mod.