Sign in to follow this  

2013-2014 Models CRF450x vs WR450f vs XC-W 450

Hey guys I'm new to thumpertalk and have a $7,000-$9,000 question (I'm buying new). Which bike would you go with honda's CRF450x, Yamaha's WR450f, or KTM's XC-W 450? Im taking everything into account build quality, handling, weight, after market support, durability ect. I like the KTM the most (and it's the lightest, weight is very important for me) but it is the most expensive and I have heard negative things about their aftermarket support and replacing parts. I also like the 6th gear on the KTM the bike over all just feels the most modern. Ive ridden the honda and liked it but the lack of FI makes me feel like it will become dated fast. The yamaha seams to be a nice middle ground but I simply know the least about. 

I primarily ride rocky desert trails and open desert roads, washes ect. I just got rid of my DRZ400 and am looking for something lighter and more race/trail orientated. I'm pretty much only interested in buying new 2013-2014/15 models and I'm looking for 450s.

Turbo I was in almost your same position about a month ago, mainly stuck between the 12-14 wr450 and 450xcf. I ride what sounds like the same type of terrain you do (high speed washes, rocky trails, single track etc) and wanted a four stroke to complement my offroad setup 2002 rm250. I rode a stock wr and liked it quite a bit even though it was corked up. Never got a chance to ride the KTM. Then rode a 2006 crf450x that was uncorked with exhaust and 02 crf450r cam. Holy crap what a bike. Extremely fast and confidence just feels like its made for high speed desert riding. I ended up finding a very clean used crf450x for 3k leaving me plenty of money left over to setup the suspension and uncork. Any reason you're only looking at new?

Wr's are pretty bullet proof....Once uncorked and set up for your weight they're pretty solid. They don't feel as heavy as I thought they would either. Never ridden the ktm or crf though.