Sign in to follow this  

XR400R vs XR650R

So unfortunately I'm posting another "what to buy" thread for everyone to read.  Im new to Thumpertalk and I checked a few threads but didn't find my answer i was looking for.  So, ill attempt to make this short and sweet so it doesn't become too redundant.

A little info about me and what I'm trying to gain.  Im 28 yrs old 6'2" and approx 210 lbs.  Im a fairly seasoned rider as I've had many dirt bikes and atvs in the past.  Im mellow and like to cruise, but enjoy the power every now and again when its "appropriate" :D .  The dilemma I've got right now is what bike to purchase as a daily commuter/leisure trail bike.  Im currently in the military and have short distances to commute to work, but have many trails around, within 20 minutes travel time, i could access.  Ive had an XR250R with some mods in the recent past that just didn't have the power I was looking for, so now I'm searching for something larger.  I will be registering the bike for on road use but would like to keep the "dual sport" rather than go supermoto with it.  So heres my questions...

Will the 400 give a guy of my size enough get up and go, or should I just go big with the 650?  I do realized there is a significant weight difference and hp difference between the two, but I'm stuck as to which one to go with.  Any and all suggestions are GREATLY appreciated.  

I also currently have an '86 CR500R I'm doing a complete rebuild on, with a few twists of my own.  Would this bike be road worthy or not a good choice to put on the streets. (I've heard they like to go fast :smirk:  )  Also, I've got the Service Honda stator coil and I'm in need of the CDI that goes with it.  Any resources or input on the CDI issue?

Edited by ARBrown