Sign in to follow this  

Suggestions on 125's

First off I feel bad posting this as I've given advice in this section before, but I keep finding myself going back and forth on bikes.

This may get a little long but here goes:

I started riding at about age 18. I had a 96 KDX 200. From what I remember it was a lot of fun, but it never had any kind of hit to it. I know KDX's are pretty mellow, but this thing wouldn't get on the pipe even a little. After I sold it I realized the power valve was stuck closed. I had nice low end but no real power.

I had nobody really to ride with and nobody to really turn to for riding help so I sold it and bought a quad. That didn't last too long either.

Anyway after about a 6 year break I got a smoking deal on a 2000 KTM 250EXC. That bike was really fun but I still didn't have any real skill and to be honest it scared me. Sold it after about a year.

After another 6 years or so I bought a 99 XR400. This was my last bike. It was nice too, I liked the low end power but after the low end it just fell off. It seemed like after the initial grunt twisting the throttle more just made more noise. It was pretty heavy, and starting after a fall was a real PITA.

I ended up selling it and have been bike less for about 2 years.

About me, I'm 30 years old, 6,1", and about 195. I pretty much consider myself a beginner and I want to just start over fresh with my approach to riding. I'd like to clear all the bad habits and pretend I'm riding for the first time.