Sign in to follow this  

Have 85 XR600.....anyone make a dirt tracker out of it?

Here are pics of a bike a friend let me have for nothing, which I am stoked about it. I was thinking of a project like this for it.

http://crossedpurpose.lincolnblack.com/fmf-belladonna-xr600-tracker/

Anyone have any idea on cost for parts on something like that? I am an engineering student (Petroleum, graduate in May) who will have some free time to take this apart over the winter and do something interesting with it.

I go to school at U of Wyoming, so I can title this thing on the street for Laramie. Was thinking it'd be fun with this setup to run around the little town in.

20140814_135041.jpg

20140814_135053.jpg

20140814_135059.jpg

20140814_135109.jpg

Cost can be as little or as high as you want.

You can hand it to a workshop with a blank check and not get much change from 20k

You can junkyard parts, do 100% of the work yourself, and providing you have all the tools will easily get it under 2k

Either way, whatever the project... Set yourself a budget, and stick to it. But as with any project, expect it to cost AT LEAST double your original budget.

I built a tracker from a nx650 a couple of years back , then decided what I really wanted was an old school type scrambler

so got the angle grinder and welding gear out again,

there's a pic of the tracker buried somewhere in this thread

http://www.thumpertalk.com/topic/1013338-nx650-scrambler/?hl=%2Bnx650+%2Bscrambler#entry10699253

both projects were relatively simple and inexpensive and I really enjoyed the build process ,

helps a lot if you can weld ,

best of luck with your project

I was thinking of a project like this for it.

[url="http://crossedpurpose.lincolnblack.com/fmf-belladonna-xr600-tr

The exhaust is homemade? I would have never guessed.