Sign in to follow this  

2015 YZ250 vs. 2015 KTM 250SX

The first thing I'd like to mention is that I've been a Yamaha guy since the day I started riding. All five of my machines are Yamaha's, dirt bikes as well as four-wheelers.

Early next year I am going to buy a brand new bike for the first time ever, and if I go the smoker route, I want to know what the KTM has on the YZ. If it weren't for the fact that KTM has been putting hard work into their new two-strokes every year, I'd take the YZ hands down; however, as much of a fan that I am of Yamaha, I am not oblivious to other manufacturer's effort.

From what I've heard, the KTM is lightyears ahead of the Yamaha. However, there are other factors to put into play: being a Yamaha rider, will I feel out of place (handling wise) on the most unique machine of all the brands? The KTM is better tech-wise and speed-wise, but that doesn't mean that I'll necessarily be able to adapt to it as well. That being said, what if they don't feel that different? What if I can adapt just fine? Questions, questions.

Next, comes performance and features. I'd like to know the differences. 

What do you think? Can a Yamaha rider adapt to a KTM machine, and what exactly does the KTM have on the Yamaha in terms of technology? Thank you, this may really influence my decision!

Edited by AKmotorider

I haven't ridden a 15 250sx but I have a 14 150sx and also a 12 YZ250.

YZ suspension is super smooth and takes every bump out of the track where the KTM is a little bit more harsh. This could be my setup up but from most stuff I have read the Yamaha suspension is still better than the KTM's.

To be honest I think they are both awesome bikes.