Sign in to follow this  

A battle royale

Hey all,

I have a simple question and hope you guys can help.

When do you say its time for a new bike??

VS

Fix what you have

I started riding in 03, and until last year, I would keep a bike beyond its topical wear service.  I was constantly splitting and rebuilding just to race and ride.  Then beyond splitting cases and rebuilding items, a few odd things would pop up.  I had a c-clip break on a metering rod, on a small roller, tossing me up on the bars.  Then I had the chrome peel off a carb slide causing the throttle to stick on a double.  I cleared the jump in the standing position.  My helmet met my knees and dirt quite abruptly.

For me it was a safety issue, as well as a time and money issue.  I race and ride sometimes 3 times a week.  So I was burnt out on repairing bikes all week just to ride/race.  I have a 13 and 14 Sx, and it's been cheaper and definitely a time saver to buy a new bike every year or less.

• Like 1

Once a bike is “set up for me” it is kinda hard to part with it.  Fix what ya got and have a good ride is what I say.

Or you can be like some of the guys I ride with who are perfectly capable of fixing their bike but choose to buy a new one every few years cause they just like to ride the newest stuff and mod a new bike.

• Like 2

I always look and see what's best for me in the long run. At the start of last year, I was on a 06 YZ125 but wasn't happy. It had FC suspension but wasn't set up for anywhere near my weight. It handled like crap. about 3/4 of the way through the season, i was really hating the bike and couldn't get it right. It was probably about ready for a motor rebuild. So for me to be happy it needed let's say $1000 in suspension to FC and a $500 (high end) motor.

At the same time, the new 250F's were really overpowering me on one of our tracks with a ton of hills. I know it is mostly the rider...but still...that extra hp is nice.